Indonesia Elected as Non-Permanent Member of the UNSC

The United Nations has voted to give Indonesia a two-year seat on the Security Council.

Indonesia has been elected as Non-Permanent Member of the UN Security Council (UNSC) for 2019-2020 after an election at the UN Headquarters in New York on June 8, 2018.

Indonesia received 144 votes in a single round of voting and will represent the Asia-Pacific Group on a two-year term. This will be Indonesia's fourth term as Non-Permanent Member of the UNSC after 1973-1974, 1995-1996, and 2007-2008.

Indonesia will join Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, and South Africa as they will succeed Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, The Netherlands, and Sweden that will end their terms on 31 December 2018.

Meanwhile, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru, and Poland will continue as elected council members, completing the second year of their respective terms in 2019. All new Council members will take their seats on 1 January 2019.

The UNSC is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations with the mandate to maintain international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to the United Nations Charter.