Bravo for an Indonesian Night in Lima


The audience who attended ''Una Noche Indonesia Indonesia'' at the Auditorium Pedro Weiss, Lima, 16 November 2010 gave a standing applause to the Angklung group and the dance team of the Indonesian Embassy in Lima. The sound of hand claps and the word Bravo filled the room after these two teams finished their performances.


The dance team performed Umbrellas dance (Tari Payung) and, Plates dance (Tari Piring), and Saman, while the Angklung team played 6 (six) songs, namely La Paloma, My Way, Guantanamera, El Condor Pasa, I'll be there and O Sole Mio. The audience seemed enthusiastic when they watched Angklung musical play. Angklung is a traditional Indonesian musical instrument that has just been inscribed as the world cultural heritage.

In addition to dance and Angklung performances, a 5 minute video about Indonesian tourism, The Sun, was also played. This video is produced by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

The embassy also held a mini-charity bazaar that sold Indonesian handicraft products. The proceeds were donated to support the social works of Asociación Casa Hogar Padre Martinho. The embassy´s stand was swarmed by the audience who was interested in buying Indonesian craft products.

The event was co-held by the Indonesian Embassy in Lima and Asociación Casa Hogar Padre Martinho, a notable orphanage in Lima. The event was aimed at supporting social activities organized by this orphanage.

Asociación Casa Hogar Padre Martinho is an orphanage founded by Pastor Martinho Carlos María Gómez. One of its missions is improving living standards of children from poor families by giving them proper education.

Indonesian arts are effective promotional tools to introduce the cultural diversity of Indonesia.
A sustainable promotion would an appropriate tool in order to bring Indonesia closer to Peruvians. Thousands miles distance between Indonesia and Peru are no longer a barrier to continuously promoting the beauty and diversity of Indonesian culture.


Lima, 18 November 2010