Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA)

Regional Cooperation

Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA)

Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia (CICA) is an intergovernmental organization that concerns with international security in Central Asia region. The purpose of establishing CICA is to create peace, security, and stability in Asia and throughout the world. CICA’s commitment is based on the principle set forth in the United Nation Charter that peace and security in Asia can be achieved through dialogue and cooperation. Through dialogue and cooperation, CICA will accomplish a joint security area in which all of the nations coexist peacefully, and their people live in peace, freedom, and prosperity.

The CICA was initiated by the President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev in 1992 through his speech in the 47th Session of UN General Assembly. The underlying spirit of CICA is to establish an efficient and acceptable forum for Asian states that aims to create peace and stability. This initiative was a response to the absence of such forum at that time. It was then responded positively by 16 states in the first Ministerial Meeting (MM) on 14 September 1999.

Until today, CICA has produced a number of key documents. The first one is the Declaration on the Principles Guiding Relations among the CICA Member States which regulates the principles of CICA which have been agreed in the first MM. These principles are among others, to respect the sovereignty of member states, not to interfere with domestic affairs of member states, and to resolve conflicts peacefully. The second one is the Almaty Act which serves as the basis for establishment of CICA. The document was produced during the first CICA Summit on 4 June 2002.

CICA member states consist of Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, China, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Egypt, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, South Korea, Russia, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, and Vietnam. The nine countries currently registered as CICA observers are Bangladesh, Cambodia, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippine, Qatar, Ukraine, and United States.

The following are the mechanism of CICA:

  1. The Head of State/Government Summit, once every 4 years;
  2. The Ministerial Meeting, once every 2 years;
  3. Senior Officials Committee (SOC), once a year;
  4. Special Working Group (SWG), held when necessary to address certain issues;
  5. Specialized Meetings of Experts, held to address technical matters as well as to develop concept of CBM implementation to be presented in the SWG.


CICA is headed by a chairman with a tenure of 4 (four) years, and assisted by a Secretariat which is located in Almaty, Kazakhstan. Turkey is currently the incumbent chairman of CICA for the period of 2010-2014.

Since 2003 until now, Indonesia has always been an observer state of CICA. Indonesia is recently reviewing the possibility and benefit of promoting its participation status in the CICA from an observer state to a member state.