G-77 and China

Group of 77 and China (G-77 and China)

The G-77 and China was formed on June 15, 1964, through the adoption of a Joint Declaration of 77 developing countries during the First Session of United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) in Geneve. Currently, G-77 and China has 133 member countries.

The main objective of G-77 and China is to enhance international cooperation in development issues.  In its progress, the activities of G-77 and China is not aimed only at boosting cooperation and providing new direction for North-South cooperation, but also aimed at intensifying mutual  cooperation among developing countries through South-South Cooperation.

Key activities of the G-77 and China are to negotiate various issues and decisions/resolutions that will become guidelines of implementations for the United Nations. The G-77 and China plays important roles to align  member countries position in relation to relevant international issues among others the follow-up of action plan of the Social Development Summit Program in Copenhagen, Women’s Summit in Beijing, UN General Assembly on Illegal Drug Abuse, Modality for the International Conference on Finaning for Development, UN General Assembly on Globalisation, Interim meeting of the IMF/World Bank Development Committee, and the United Nation’s Reform.

The highest decision making level by member countries of the G-77 and China is the South Summit. The South Summit has been convened twice in Havana on 2000 and in Doha on 2005. The Next South Summit in 2010 will be convened in the African Region.  

The second South Summit in Doha, Qatar on June 2005 adopted the Doha Declaration and the Doha Plan of Action. The Doha Declaration generally pointed out political commitments of the G-77 and China’s member countries to enhance South-South Cooperation in international as well as national level. The Declaration also includes Indonesia’s proposal to put a clause regarding the New Asian African Strategic Partnership (NAASP) as recognition of the importance of regional and inter-regional cooperation in improving South-South Cooperation.

The Doha Plan of Action contain member countries’ action plan to resume the implementation of Havana Plan of Action adopted at the First South Summit in Havana on 2000. Doha Plan of Action consist of 4 sections; globalization, science and technology; South-South Cooperation; and North-South cooperation. Indonesia proposed to conduct workshop/training in three areas which are Small and Medium Enterprise, Microfinance, and Information Technology.

To review and follow-up the decisions made at the second South Summit, the Intergovernmental Follow-up and Coordination Committee on Economic Cooperation among Developing Countries (IFCC) has served as the G-77 and China’s main commmittee that is tasked to deal with South-South Cooperation issues. Indonesia has participated in the 12th IFCC in Ivory Coast on June 2008 and presented its report on Small and Medium Enterprise and Microfinance training activities convened in Indonesia as follow-up to its commitment made at the Second South Summit.

For Indonesia, cooperation within the G-77 and China is an effective tool to enhance South-South Cooperation. The G-77 and China also provides Indonesia with lobbying support from all its member countries particularly for Indonesia’s policy in the United Nations forums, for example, when Indonesia was elected as non-permanent member of United Nations Security Council.