Indonesia Tourism Awards 2010 presented


On December 2nd 2010, Minister for Culture and Tourism, Ir. Jero Wacik, SE. handed the Indonesia Tourism Awards  (ITA) 2010 to government offices and private industries involved in tourism. The ceremony took place at the Grand Studio Metro TV and was broadcast on December 20th.

The Indonesia Tourist Awards 2010 are aimed to recognize local governments (provincial and cities) and the private sector who continuously maintain and improve services in the tourism sector. These achievements are reached through creative efforts to increase facilities and services for tourists, both domestic and international.

The awards were given through careful surveys of 25 cities based on the amount of regional budget allocated to tourism and also through program competition among regional governmental tourism offices that reflect their commitment towards tourism development.  A special Award was also given to cities/districts that have limited budgets but still show significant commitment towards tourism development. The Awards were selected in cooperation with Swa Magazine

Through the Visit Indonesia Year program that was launched on 2008, Indonesia’s tourism has experienced a re-awakening. This is proven by the growing participations from the local and regional governments such as the launch of the Visit Musi Year, Visit Bangka Belitung Year, Visit Batam Year and many more. In years to come, these programs are expected to increase.

To boost the domestic tourism motivation to travel, the government has launched the “Kenali Negerimu, Cintai Negrimu” translated as “Know Your Country, Love Your Country” program that is aimed to increase travel by domestic tourists. This is done by several regional events such as the Sail Banda (Maluku), Yogya Java Carnival (Yogyakarta), Solo International Ethnic Music (Solo), and the ASEAN Jazz Festival (Batam) which is hoped to further improve the tourism sector as a whole at national level.

Winners of the Indonesia Tourism Awards 2010 are as follows:

In the Best Tourist Destinations Category, winners were:

1. Tanah Lot  in Tabanan, Bali

2. The Prambanan temple in Yogyakarta

3. The Borobudur temple in Central Java

4. The Jam Gadang at Bukittinggi, West Sumatra

Best Five Stars Hotels Awards went to:

1. J.W. Marriot Hotel Jakarta

2. Sheraton Senggigi Beach Hotel & Resort Lombok

3. Aryaduta Jakarta

4. Shangrila Jakarta

Best Four Star Hotels:

 Swiss Bel Hotels

Best Three Stars Hotels:

Ibis Hotels

For Best Low Cost Carriers, the Awards went to :

1. Lion Air

2. Air Asia

3. Batavia Air

For Best Travel Agencies the Awards  went to  

1. Vaya Tour

2. Haryono Travel

Best Taxi companies were:

1. Express Taxi

2. Putera Taxi

Best Sea Food Restaurants were:

1. D’ Cost Restaurant

2. Golden Prawn

In the Best Sundanese Restaurants Category:

1. Kampung Daun

2. Saung Cianjur

3. Bumbu Desa

The Best Javanese Restaurants:

1. Ayam Goreng Mbok Berek

2. Bebek Bengil

Best Padang Restaurants:

1. Simpang Raya

2. Sederhana

3. Garuda Restaurant

In the Best Non-Star Hotel Category:

Hotel Paseban, Jakarta

Best Jakarta  Malls are :

1. Plaza Indonesia

2. Mall Taman Anggrek

Best Malls outside Jakarta are :

1. Ambarukmo Plaza, Yogyakarta

2. Mall Galleria

3. Solo Grand Mall, Solo, Central Java

Best Malls outside Java are:

1. Mall Pekan Baru, Riau

2. Ratu Indah Mall,  Makassar, South Sulawesi

3. Mall Panakukang, Makassar, South Sulawesi

Cities with the best Tourism Services  were awarded to :

1. Denpasar, Bali

2. Yogjyakarta

3. Solo, Central Java

4. Makassar, South Sulwesi

5. Malang, East Java

6. Manado, North Sulawesi

7. Medan, North Sumatra.

8. Bukittinggi, West Sumatra

9. Cianjur, West Java

10. East Lombok

In the Favorite Cities Category are:

1. Yogyakarta

2. Medan, North Sumatra

3. Manado, North Sulawesi

4. Malang, East Java

5. Solo, Central Java

6. Bandung, West Java

7. Makassar, South Sulawesi

Provinces with the Best Tourism Development Programs are:

1. Yogyakarta Province

2. West Nusa Tenggara Province

While the Best of the Best Awards went to:

City: the City of Denpasar, Bali

Province: Bali

And Special Awards went to:

District: the District of West Manggarai, East Nusa Tenggara

Tourist Destination: Bedugul, Tabanan, Bali

Starred Hotel: Hard Rock Hotel, Bali

Restaurant: Bandar Jakarta

Spa : Martha Tilaar Salon Day Spa

Travel Agent: Panorama Tour

Airline: Garuda Indonesia

Mall : Plaza Senayan

Golf : Damai Indah Golf

Taxi : Blue Bird

Non-Starred Hotel: Legian Village Hotel, Bali