Contact Us   |   FAQ   |   Link   |   Site Map
   |   Search 

Joint Statement on Strengthening Comprehensive Strategic Partnership between the People's Republic of China and The Republic of Indonesia     |       Download The Annual Press Statement 2015 here.     |       

Press Release

Indonesia is Elected as the President of the Conference on Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty

Sunday, 29 September 2013

No. 33/PR/IX/2013/54.


Indonesia's Foreign Minister, Marty Natalegawa together with Hungarian Foreign Minister, Janos Martonyi, has been elected as the joint President of the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) during the 8th meeting which took place at UN Headquarters, New York (27/09).


The conference aims to determine the next steps to accelerate the implementation of the CTBT, including encouraging the eight Annex 2 countries that have not ratified the CTBT. Without the ratification of all Annex 2 countries, the CTBT cannot be enforced.


As the joint Conference President, Indonesia and Hungary have the task of coordinating international efforts in realizing the imposition of the CTBT. At the Conference, Indonesia’s Foreign Affairs Minister call for the eight Annex 2 countries to ratify the CTBT without having to wait for one other, in order to expedite the implementation of the CTBT.


“The implementation of the CTBT is a milestone in creating the world free of nuclear weapons,” Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa stressed.


“To achieve these objectives, it is necessary for the government, NGOs and international organizations to make joint efforts to improve the understanding of the objectives of the CTBT and the importance of the implementation of the Treaty.”


In the conference to the Final Declaration and Measures to Promote the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty has been approved, which reaffirms the commitment of the countries to encourage the implementation of the CTBT immediately.


In addition, the Declaration also determines the necessary steps, including supporting the establishment of the Group of Eminent Persons (GEM) which will help promote the CTBT in particular to the eight Annex 2 countries that have not ratified the treaty, namely the U.S., China, India, Pakistan, Israel, North Korea, Iran, and Egypt. (Source: New York PTRI)


AksesInvitesMajalah QuAsTabloid DiplomasiAGRINEX
MUSEUM KONPERENSI ASIA AFRIKAppidBuletin Komunitas ASEANIndonesia's Diplomacy 2013ASEAN Selayang Pandang
Pedoman Praktis Pembuatan Pengesahan dan Penyimpanan Naskah PIPanduan Umum Tata Cara dan Kerjasama LN oleh PemdaPerpustakaan Ali AlatasPeluangAyo Kita Kenal ASEAN
Indonesian Arts and Culture Scholarship 2014ASEAN Community 2015Orang Utan Indonesia Conservation Strategies and Action Plan 2007-2017Proses dan Tata CaraPerpustakaan Hukum Kementerian Luar Negeri
Exploring AfricaSejarah Diplomasi RIAli Alatas E-LibraryBKPM
next pre
Copyright 2009 Foreign Affairs Department Republic of Indonesia | Term and Condition